First ever Filmfare awards winners – best actor, actress, director, film and music.

Who won the first ever Filmfare awards for Bollywood films – facts, records.

first filmfare award winner
photo : pinterest


The first Filmfare Awards ceremony took place on March 21, 1954, at the
Bombay Metro Theater. The awards were initially called the Clare Awards
after critic Clare Mendonca of The Times of India.

The following people received the first Filmfare Awards:

– Best Film: Do Bigha Zamin
– Best Director: Bimal Roy for Do Bigha Zamin
– Best Actor: Dilip Kumar for Daag
– Best Actress: Meena Kumari for Baiju Bawra
– Best Music Director: Naushad for Baiju Bawra

Dilip Kumar in Daag.

Meena Kumar in Baiju Bawra.

The first winners of Best Director and Best Actor awards, respectively, were
Bimal Roy and Dilip Kumar. Almost six decades later, with seven and eight
victories each, they continue to hold those titles. Furthermore, Meena
Kumari, the first Best Actress winner, held the record for the most wins in
the category for 13 years before Nutan broke it with her fifth victory at
the 26th Filmfare Award.
Also see: